Regulatory Boundaries

 The New York District has Regulatory authority for Waters of the United States in New York and New Jersey, comprising the following counties:

Note: Click Map to Enlarge District Boundaries

New Jersey counties

Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Passaic, Somerset, Union, and portions of Hunterdon, Mercer, Monmouth, Morris and Sussex.


Lower New York counties

New York City (Bronx, New York, Queens, Kings, Richmond), Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster.

Upper New York counties

Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren and Washington.


The remaining New Jersey counties are within the regulatory boundaries of the Philadelphia District.  The remaining New York counties are within the regulatory boundaries of the Buffalo District. For a map of New York counties broken out by regions and Districts, see the Forms and Documents section below.

For questions or comments related to this page, or Regulatory activities at the New York District, please contact the Regulatory Branch.